top of page

Hansu Haile


In Eritrea, I was a housewife and worked on the family farm. Today my life in Denmark is completely different. But this is where I want to be, and this is where I want my children to grow up. I want them to grow up in a country of peace and opportunity.

Today I go to language school, because it is important for me to learn the language. I’m on maternity leave, because I’ve given birth to my fourth child. But when my maternity leave is over, I want to go back to what has become my everyday life in Denmark. I want to get better at Danish, and I want to work. I have been working as a cleaner, and I would like to do that again. I would also like to work in a kitchen, and maybe I could work in a nursery with cleaning or cooking? Or maybe work with the elderly? I want to work with people. I love people and would like to get new acquaintances.

But I also have dreams. I have some wishes for the future. They are simple, and I guess I share them with most people? For me, my hope and my dream for the future is that my children can grow up in a safe environment. That they can do well in school, get an education and afterwards a job they are comfortable with. That’s the good life I want for them. That they will be well.
These are simple wishes I have for my life, but they mean a lot to me. That I can work with people, and that my children can have a safe upbringing in a country of peace. These are my dreams for the future in Denmark. A future I believe in.

30 / female / in a relationship / children / on maternity leave / Silkeborg / from Eritrea / came to Denmark in 2015 / residence permit same year

bottom of page